Quarter notes: upcoming

Simple Measures founder Rajan Krishnaswami and Mark Salman are holding a recital at Town Hall to benefit Simple Measures. The cello and piano duo will be playing music by Shostakovich, Debussy, Chopin, and others. The two talked about the music briefly in a video (May 29, 2009).

Another cellist will grace Seattle this weekend as well. Joshua Roman left the Seattle Symphony a year ago, but kept close ties to the area. He is returning to play the premiere of David Stock’s Cello Concerto. Curiously, the concerto was written in 2001 and hasn’t been performed until now. James DePriest is guest conducting and he will also lead the orchestra in Smetana’s Overture to the “Bartered Bride” and Rachmaninov’s final composition, the Symphonic Dances.

Orchestra Seattle ends their 2008/2009 season next Sunday with “Slavic Melodies” a concert with Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto Nr. 2 and Antonin Dvorak’s Czech Suite. Mark Salman takes the bench again, this time for Rachmaninov’s daunting piano concerto (June 7, 2009).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s